Valletta International Baroque Ensemble 

Pearls from the Mediterranean

MALTA
VRIJDAG 8 JULI
20u00 Openingsconcert
20 P

Valletta International Baroque ensemble brings to life the rich repertoire of Maltese baroque works. Their "Pearls of the Mediterranean" program starts with polychronic chants on a sacred text by an anonymous composer from the Maltese islands and ends with Girolamo Abos' Stabat Mater. The latter contains numerous interesting characteristics and a mood-determining instrumental introduction by which the audience will be carried away. VIBE introduces the era of great wonder. 

Vivaldi-4Valetta.jpg
  • YouTube
  • Facebook Social Icon

The Valletta International Baroque Ensemble (VIBE), founded in 2012, is the permanent ensemble of the Valletta International Baroque Festival. The group plays on period instruments and consists of established Malta-based musicians working with internationally established specialists in Early Music. VIBE's repertoire includes important works by Gabrieli, Monteverdi, Willaert, Usper, Handel and JS Bach. The Ensemble also played an important role in the rediscovery and performance of works by Maltese composers of the 17th and 18th centuries. 

 

 

VIBE has collaborated in the past with leading world authorities on early music, including violinist Catherine Martin, cellist Albert Brüggen, trumpeter Richard Thomas, harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani, sackbut expert Sue Addison and theorboists David Miller and Eligio Quintero, choral conductor Eomonn Dougan and members of The Sixteen. ViBE also has an ongoing collaboration with KorMalta, Malta's National Choir, with whom they have performed major works and custom projects based on research into Caravaggio paintings and Dante's Divina Commedia. ViBE believes in constant training, especially in the niche area that requires specific instrumental techniques and historically informed performance styles. ViBE has also collaborated with contemporary Maltese composers to premiere works that either revive baroque musical forms, such as Alexander Vella Gregory's Concerto Grosso. This dialogue between old and new is at the heart of the VIBE project and complements its mission to bring a passion for early music to a contemporary audience.

Valletta International Baroque Ensemble 

Pearls from the Mediterranean

MALTA
VRIJDAG 8 JULI
20u00 Openingsconcert
20 P

L'Ensemble International Baroque La Valette (VIBE) fait revivre le riche répertoire des œuvres baroques maltaises. Le programme, "Perles de la Méditerranée", débute par des chants polychroniques et par un texte sacré d'un compositeur anonyme des îles maltaises ; il se termine par le Stabat Mater de Girolamo Abos. Cette dernière œuvre présente de nombreux aspects intéressants, elle capte l’attention du public lors de l’introduction instrumentale qui détermine l’ambiance. VIBE émerveille l’auditoire dès le départ.

Vivaldi-4Valetta.jpg
  • YouTube
  • Facebook Social Icon

L'Ensemble International Baroque La Valette (VIBE), fondé en 2012, occupe une charge permanente auprès du Valletta International Baroque Festival. Le groupe joue sur des instruments d’époque. Il est composé de musiciens établis à Malte qui travaillent avec des spécialistes internationaux de musique ancienne. Le répertoire de l’ensemble VIBE comprend des œuvres majeures de Gabrieli, Monteverdi, Willaert, Usper, Haendel et JS Bach. L'ensemble a également joué un rôle important dans la redécouverte et l'interprétation d'œuvres de compositeurs maltais des 17e et 18e siècles.

VIBE a collaboré par le passé avec des sommités mondiales de la musique ancienne, notamment la violoniste Catherine Martin, le violoncelliste Albert Brüggen, le trompettiste Richard Thomas, le claveciniste Mahan Esfahani, la spécialiste de la sacqueboute (trombone), Sue Addison, les théorbistes David Miller et Eligio Quintero, le chef de chœur Eomonn Dougan et les membres du groupe The Sixteen. VIBE coopère également avec KorMalta, le Chœur National de Malte, en interprétant des œuvres majeures avec eux. Ils présenteront des projets  basés sur des recherches concernant les peintures du Caravage et la Divina Commedia de Dante. VIBE croit en la formation continue, en particulier dans le domaine qui requiert des techniques instrumentales spécifiques et des styles de performance historiquement documentés. VIBE a également collaboré avec des compositeurs maltais contemporains pour créer des œuvres qui font revivre des formes musicales baroques, comme le Concerto Grosso d'Alexandre Vella Gregory. Ce dialogue entre les styles anciens et actuels est au cœur du projet VIBE, il complète sa mission consistant à transmettre la passion de la musique ancienne au public de notre temps.