Hathor Consort & Hana Blažíková o.l.v. Romina Lischka 

Heavenly & Earthly Love

BE & CZ
ZONDAG 10 JULI - 15u00

The Italian composer and singer Barbara Strozzi made history with her stunning compositional output as one of the few female baroque composers and is mainly remembered for her erotic love songs. In their interpretation, Hathor Consort and soprano Hana Blazikova bring to light the recurring theme of love and its perils, in which expressive tears and sighs resound above a steady, intimate bass line. 

Hathor_Consort_BW-0462-2.jpg

"Let your breasts be like bunches on the vine, your breath like the fragrance of apples, your tongue like sweet wine, in which my kisses are bathed." (Song of Songs: 7) The erotic texts of the Biblical Song of Songs occupy a special place within the Hebrew Bible. The sexual desire between people of flesh and blood is key. Nevertheless, in order to frame the obvious eroticism as a form of divine rather than human love, Judaism interprets the Song of Songs as an allegory of the relationship between God and Israel, while Christianity understands the couple's desire for each other as an allegory of Christ and his "bride," the Church. 

 

 

The controversial content of the Song of Songs did not stop composers from setting the tantalizing words to music, as in the case of Giovanni Pierlugi da Palestrina (1525-1594) and his 29-part motet cycle Canticum Canticorum. Palestrina, too, interprets the Song of Songs not as a narrative of human love, but as "the divine love for Christ and his bride, the soul." In the dedication, which has since become famous, in which Palestrina dedicates the cycle to Pope Gregory XIII, the composer confesses to having committed the sin of sounding out secular love poetry in the past. 

  • YouTube
"Blažíková limpidly stylish singing eloquently conveys the poetry and its sentiments. Such rarefied beauty and intelligence means that any risk of textural monotony is deftly side-stepped, and a treasure trove of fine music is revealed." Grammophone

Hana Blazikova & Hathor Consort sous la direction de Romina Lischka

Heavenly & Earthly Love

BE & CZ
ZONDAG 10 JULI - 15u00

La compositrice et chanteuse italienne Barbara Strozzi, avec son étonnante production de compositions, est entrée dans l'histoire pour avoir été l'une des rares femmes compositeurs de l'époque baroque. Aujourd'hui, on se souvient surtout de ses chansons d'amour érotiques. L'interprétation par l'Hathor Consort et par la soprano Hana Blazikova met en lumière le thème récurrent de l'amour et de ses vicissitudes, avec des larmes et des soupirs expressifs qui résonnent au-dessus d'une ligne de basse stable aux accents tristes.

Hathor_Consort_BW-0462-2.jpg

"Que tes seins soient comme les grappes de la vigne, ton souffle comme le parfum des pommes, ta langue comme le vin doux où baignent mes baisers" (Cantique des Cantiques : 7). Les textes érotiques du Cantique des Cantiques occupent une place singulière dans la Bible hébraïque. Le désir sexuel entre personnes de chair et de sang y est central. Afin d'encadrer l'érotisme clairement présent sous la forme d’un amour divin plutôt qu'humain, le judaïsme interprète le Cantique des Cantiques comme une allégorie de la relation entre Dieu et Israël. Le christianisme, quant à lui, comprend le désir du couple comme une allégorie du Christ et de sa bien-aimée, l’âme.

 

Le contenu controversé du Cantique des Cantiques n'a pas empêché les compositeurs de mettre en musique ces paroles stimulantes, comme dans le cas de Giovanni Pierlugi da Palestrina (1525-1594) et de son cycle de motets en 29 parties Canticum Canticorum. Palestrina, lui aussi, comprenait le Cantique des Cantiques non pas comme une histoire d'amour humain, mais comme "l'amour divin pour le Christ et sa bien-aimée, l'âme".  Dans la dédicace, désormais célèbre, par laquelle Palestrina dédie le cycle au pape Grégoire XIII, le compositeur admettait avoir, dans le passé, commis le péché de mettre en musique des poèmes d'amour mondain.

  • YouTube
"Blažíková limpidly stylish singing eloquently conveys the poetry and its sentiments. Such rarefied beauty and intelligence means that any risk of textural monotony is deftly side-stepped, and a treasure trove of fine music is revealed." Grammophone